About Uganda

The Republic of Uganda is a landlocked country in East Africa, bordered by Kenya on the east, South Sudan on the north, the Democratic Republic of the Congo on the west, Rwanda on the southwest, and Tanzania on the south. The southern part of the country includes a substantial portion of Lake Victoria, shared with Kenya and Tanzania. Set at the equator, Uganda is made up of four administrative regions (Central, Eastern, Northern and Western) on an area of 236,580 sq km, with its capital at Kampala.

Common Languages

  • English (Official language)
  • Swahili
  • Luganda
  • Runyankole,Rukiga or Rutoro


  • Roman Catholic (41%)
  • Anglican (40%)
  • Islam (5%)
  • Other beliefs (14%)


  • Ugandan Shilling (UGX)

Map of Uganda